About Us

Jeanine McMinn, a Magnolia, TX wife, Mother, Grandmother, horsewoman, instructor and mentor lost her life in a horse related accident on 8/31/14 while attending the American Novice Horse Association, Shoot Out in Waco Tx.  Jeanine attended the race with her daughter and eight of her lesson students. While some of her students had fantastic, money earning runs Saturday, on Sunday while preparing some of her "kids" for their competition runs in the second go-round, a fellow competitor's horse broke away from it's handler and bolted, hitting Jeanine from behind and slamming her down on the concrete hallway between the two warm-up pens.  Off duty medical personal jumped gates and walls to reach her and provide help until EMT arrived. After transporting her to a local hospital, doctors where unable to save her.

The barrel race producers, along with many watching via live webcast, friends, and family were in utter shock. Jeanine's daughter Tiffini Wooten made a run later that night in memory of her mother who would have wanted nothing more than for her and her students to continue to do what she loved.

The barrel racing and horse world has lost a great ambassador. She was very active in the local 4-H, and horse clubs. Jeanine lived for the students that she taught, passing along her love and passion for horses and barrel racing.

Her students and a host of friends and family have put together a barrel race that includes a silent auction and stallion service auction, that will fund a scholarship in Jeanine's name. All proceeds from this barrel race and auctions will be used to establish a scholarship fund for chosen youth in the horse and barrel racing community. Please help us keep her memory alive by making a donation to this barrel race. All donated items will be auctioned off on race day in a silent auction and/or on-line format.

Thank you for considering a donation to help support this scholarship fund. Sponsorship and donation opportunities will be listed soon.

Thank you,
Jeanine McMinn Memorial Scholarship Fund Staff